AHA Moments with God!!!

Have you ever just had God speak to you? Just one of those rare moments where you’re reading an article and it just clicks? I had a moment like that today. Sometime last week I was reading my Bible (really trying to catch up on my reading) and a verse just spoke to me. Proverbs 13:12, “Hope deferred makes the heart sick: but when the desire comes, it is a tree of life.” I really needed to hear that. There is always talk about seasons are you in a season of reaping or sowing? Are you in a season of waiting? I believe that you can be in all of those seasons at once because they can affect different areas of your life. In one area of my life I am definitely in a season of waiting and it is so hard! In the hardest moments of my waiting I have asked God to take away the desire. I have asked him how long am going to wait for my reward. I know it’s selfish, but that’s our natural desire. God used that verse to gently remind me that He knows my heart, but if I will just hold on when that desire is rewarded it will be a tree of life. It was encouragement when I was feeling down. From there other verses popped into my head. I thought of Jeremiah 29:11 and Matthew 6:33. Which redirects my thoughts from my desire to my walk with God; am I seeking God first? What does that look like? I really love these moments with God.
I have been doing a study on Psalms & Proverbs along with some other reading. I have always been drawn to those books of the Bible. I was first drawn in by the Proverbs. I love practical life lessons and God designed me to learn from other people’s mistakes. I used to sit and listen to my parents, grandparents, aunts, and uncles talk about the old days and tell stories. It has always been my favorite place and I love to hear them. I learned a lot from those stories and they kept me out of trouble for a very long time. Lately, I’ve been desperate for the Psalms. I want to read them and unlock the secrets of praise that are hidden in there. I love encouragement and I very much dislike negative people. Negativity in any form is like a disease. There is nothing wrong with being realistic, but it is a terrible waste to always be negative. A friend of mine recently asked me how I stay so positive. The answer is easy that’s how God designed me! But that doesn’t mean I don’t have my moments of sadness, anger, etcetera. I just constantly remind myself of all the times God has come through for me. I haven’t perfected this, but I try and look at all the negative things or mistakes I have made in my life and see God in them. I have by no means gotten them all figured out and there are still some things that are hard to let go of, but something I learned from the book of Job recently is that you don’t have to pursue God perfectly, but you do have to pursue him persistently.
It’s no wonder that I love the book of Psalms and Proverbs so much since I have been learning more in my walk with God this year I have learned that everyone has spiritual gifts. It took a little research and prayer on my part to figure mine out, but they suit me so perfectly. I originally thought that God had given me the gift of service, but as I have dug a little deeper it’s really a gift of exhortation. I love lifting people up and I have a strong desire to see people draw closer to God. Not just get to heaven, but to truly experience what a relationship with him is meant to be. Following that gift I have wisdom which is a gift of insight and even though I have this gift doesn’t necessarily mean I get it right. With this comes a choice of doing what’s right or wrong. A lot of the time I make the wrong choice and I don’t even have to wait until after I do it to get convicted. I am working on this. I want to make the right choices and lead by example, but I’m not perfect and God is still working on me. Faith is another gift that God has given me. I truly believe that God will come through for me (anyone really) as long as we truly believe. This one took me a while to grasp because faith is about trust in God being who He says He is. I actually prayed for these two gifts. I prayed for years that God would give me wisdom and I recently started praying for Faith. I prayed for the wisdom of Solomon and the Faith found in the men and women of the Bible. It was like they knew he would come through. I don’t know if God had already designed me with these gifts or they were gifts bestowed upon me because I asked for them and I sought after them. I’ll have to pray about that. I also need to pray about how to use these gifts because I don’t want to waste something so wonderful. Honestly I can’t wait to start using the exhortation. I love building people up and I make the best cheerleader. I can see how God designed me with that specific gift in mind. Learning about that helps me understand a lot of things about myself and I can’t wait until God has me use my gift.

For those of you wanting to explore your gifts, I found this website today (http://www.spiritualgiftstest.com/) where you can take a quiz. I took it and it confirmed what I had already learned. I would love to know what your spiritual gifts are!! Take the quiz and share with me.

Leave a Reply

