Spiritual Health & Weekend Plans

Happy Friday y’all!  Friday is one of my favorite days of the week!  I’d like to say good luck to all my CFS family competing today! I really wish I was there to cheer you on!

Spiritual Health

Resting has been good for me. My back/side still hurts when I move certain ways and I am suffering from a headache, sore throat, and achy muscles, but I slept for 9.5 -10 hours last night which made my head and throat feel so much better. I am a big fan of rest! I am a big fan of sleeping. It really gives your body a chance to heal.

As you know I am all about getting healthy and staying that way. Being healthy doesn’t just mean working on your physical health, but your mental, emotional, and spiritual health as well.  I have learned that working on your spiritual health is the most import aspect of your health that you can work on. As you know I have been putting God first in my life. That is one of the goals that I sent for this year and honestly it has been hit or miss sometimes. It really is hard to sacrifice the flesh daily, but that’s what is required to focus of God daily. I have been a Christian for a long time, but for most of that walk it has been more about me than about a relationship with God. When I was younger I was excited to be sold out for Jesus and I was surrounded by other people that were also sold out for Jesus. As I got older I was exposed to more people that appeared to be sold out for Christ, but they weren’t really living it. That left me pondering the question how do you have practical Christianity? How do you live it day to day? Instead of turning to God for the answers by prayer or reading the Bible I asked someone that I thought would have the answer and that left me clueless because they didn’t have an adequate answer. So you can image how excited I was when we started the Bible Study on James and my pastor called it Practical Christianity. It honestly never occurred to me that to look at it that way. I love Bible studies because they can give you so much insight into God’s Word. Something I have learned that I didn’t know before that the epistles were written to the church. They were written to people that were already Christians. It is so wonderful to know that God knew ahead of time that we were going to need further instructions! Right now we are studying James. We are on Chapter 3 and it has some great lessons. Here is James 3 (ESV).

1Not many of you should become teachers, my brothers, for you know that we who teach will be judged with greater strictness. 2For we all stumble in many ways. And if anyone does not stumble in what he says, he is a perfect man, able also to bridle his whole body. 3If we put bits into the mouths of horses so that obey us; we guide their whole bodies as well. 4Look at the ship also: though they are so large and are driven by strong winds, they are guided by a very small rudder wherever the will of the pilot directs. 5So also the tongue is a small member, yet it boasts of great things. How great a forest is set ablaze by such a small fire! 6And the tongue is a fire, a world of unrighteousness. The tongue is set among our members, staining the whole body, setting on fire the entire course of life, and set on fire by hell. 7For every kind of beast and bird, of reptile and sea creature, can be tamed and has been tamed by mankind, 8but no human being can tame the tongue. It is a restless evil, full of deadly poison. 9With it we bless our Lord and Father, and with it we curse people who are made in the likeness of God. 10Form the same mouth come blessing and cursing. My brothers, these things ought not to be so. 11Does a spring pour forth from the same opening both fresh and salt water? 12Can a fig tree, my brothers, bear olives, or a grapevine produce figs? Neither can a salt pond yield fresh water. 13Who is wise and understanding among you? By his good conduct let him show his works in the meekness of wisdom. 14But if you have bitter jealousy and selfish ambition in your hearts, do not boast and be false to the truth. 15This is not the wisdom that comes down from above, but is earthly, unspiritual, demonic. 16 For where jealousy and selfish ambition exist, there will be disorder and every vile practice. 17But the wisdom from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, open to reason, full of mercy and good fruits, impartial and sincere. 18And a harvest of righteousness is sown in peace by those who make peace.

I have learned that what I put in is definitely what comes out, so I have been trying to put more into my relationship with God. I am aiming to read one chapter daily of the Bible and I started with Psalms 23 as part of challenge with my devotional.  We are supposed to read Psalms 23 everyday for a month. I actually forgot to read it a few times, so I make up for it by reading it multiple times if I’ve missed a day. I like the idea of reading a chapter for a month so I have found a few more books that I want to do that with. Reading it over and over again gives it new meaning and helps me memorize it.

I am also doing a challenge to add 10 minutes of prayer a day to my regular prayer routine and my goodness is that hard. For the most part it’s because I don’t know how to prayer for that long. I am not a very wordy prayer. Unless something is really on my mind and I haven’t figured out a clear way to express it, but I have been working on this 10 minute prayer which usually consists of me thanking God for the things that he has given me or has promised me or is working out in me. It makes me wonder, does that count?

What is your relationship with Christ like? Do you work on your Spiritual health? Are you living a practical Christian faith or just saying you’re a Christian and continuing to live in the desires of  flesh? Are you attempting to tame your tongue?

Big Weekend Plans!

I was not able to go to Charleston this weekend with my CrossFit family for the competition they are participating in, but God did bless me with a fantastic opportunity for this weekend to replace it! First up, our church is having a Ladies Retreat this weekend with Rev. Rhonda Holland from the Aiken Church of God. I can’t wait to hear her speak tonight and Sunday morning. Next, on Saturday I am going with my friends Brenda Linda to Scarowinds! I have never been to Scarowinds before so I am excited to go and I am excited to ride the rides as well. Hopefully I will be able to take some pictures for y’all to see. Well, that’s what I am up to this weekend, what are y’alls big plans?

Leave a Reply

