PRs in life and Training all your Weaknesses

YAY! It ‘s Friday! I love Fridays because I get to wear casual clothes to work. It also means that the weekend is here and tomorrow I get to spend all day with Mason doing fun things like decorating the house for fall/Halloween and harvesting our persimmons.

Do you have any cool uses for persimmons? I’ve discovered that they are mostly used in pies and breads.

PRs in life and Training all your Weaknesses

(You like that wordplay in the title, fitness friends? I know you were expecting workout stuff!)

If you don’t know this about me, I do a lot of reading. In fact it’s one of my favorite things to do. I read Christian blogs, financial blogs, health & fitness blogs, and cooking blogs plus fictional and non – fictional books. Honestly I’ll read just about anything! Today while reading a Christian blog it was talking about the habits of the rich as well as the habits of the spiritually rich. Things really started to click for me.  I learned some really cool statistics about wealthy & poor people, found 3 books I want to buy, and learned that like the article by Lindsey Valenzuela ( I also read that today) you need to train your weaknesses which converts to all areas of life. I have been working on a few areas of my life and I have seen some big changes. Here are some of the things that I’ve been working on.

Spiritually – I have been building a stronger relationship with the Lord.  I have talked about this before how putting God first was a priority this year.  I haven’t been as consistent with it as I would like and have tripped up a couple of times by doing things that needed to be dealt with, but God has been kind, loving, patient, and understanding. He has forgiven me and helped me move forward. What kind of blessings have I received from this? I have learned how to better listen and follow the instructions of the Lord. I have recognized a need to increase my prayer life, change certain behaviors, and grasped a true understanding what having a relationship with Christ is really about versus just being saved! Those are some big blessings! I have evaluated and realized that I need to spend more time reading my Bible, tithing on a more regular basis, serving from a heart of love (I am currently struggling with this in some areas of my life), consistency, and gracious speaking to the people closest to me.

Fitness – If you read my blog or spend any amount of time with me you know that I love health and fitness. I’ve lost 41 pounds and in this last year I am all about running, CrossFit, yoga, and healthy living. I have some really cool improvements in my body since adding CrossFit to my body in my ability. I have muscle definition, and I can lift some pretty heavy weight. All of my training has allowed me to compete in a competition, complete a mud run, and generally made things in life a whole light easier. Like the vacuum not being nearly as hard to push. I went from not being able to finish a set of 10 butterfly sit ups to doing a 150 in a workout yesterday without having to use my hands on my knees to pull me the rest of the way up. I can even dead hang from a pull up bar and pull myself up to where my elbows are bent 90 degrees. I couldn’t even hang for 30 seconds before that. What am working on? Strict pull ups, endurance, rowing, ring dips, toes 2 bar, knees 2 elbows, snatches, double unders, and rope climbs.

I really love how disciplines from every area of life flow together. I can’t wait to tell more about my fascinating journey and I would love to hear about yours.

What are your goals? Your weaknesses? What areas of life are you working on?

Leave a Reply

