Jumping In, Progress, & Catching Up

I haven’t blogged in a while, but life has been busy. I have been doing Crossfit 5 or 6 days a week and trying to keep up with Mason.  Here are some things going on in my life.

Church

If you have been reading along you’ll know that I switched churches. I like the church, but the atmosphere is so sedate. I finally told Mason that we are going back to our old church.  So this past Sunday we went to New Harvest and it really felt like going home! I love the new friends I have made and the pastor at Grassy Pond is really great, but New Harvest just feels more like home.  I may have to sit with Mason during Sunday school sometimes, but that is alright. Also, Pastor Wells has started a series on pray based out of Matthew 7:7-12. He recapped on some of the principles on “ask, and it shall be given you” then went into “seek, ad ye shall find.” This was something that I really needed to hear.  A question he posed was what does seeking really look like and then followed up with verses from the Bible like Matt 6:33-34, Psalms 34:10. In all these verses you were sinking God first. Seeking his kingdom, & his righteousness he went on to give an example that if you are really seeking him then every time there is an activity at the church or there is a fellowship going on you are there.  You are getting involved and surrounding yourself with like m indeed people, worshiping Christ, learning about him, reading your Bible, studying His word because that is how you find him. It made me take a look at a few things.  I have prayed about creating friendships in Christ, but this past Sunday made me realize that I wasn’t seeking out those kinds of Friendships.  I just started CrossFit.  One of the reasons I was drawn to it was the community feeling you get and I jumped in there. I said hi to fellow gym mates and went to cheer them on while they competed.  I came in on the weekend and worked on my skills, chatted with them, and accepted invitations to hang out, but I haven’t been nearly as diligent in my quest for Christian friendships. I know that it is time to make those kinds of things happen jump in there!

Food

I recently told y’all about eliminating grains from my diet well this week I tried adding some back in because honestly sandwiches are pretty convenient for me, but I immediately had sinus pressure and a headache after getting halfway through a sandwich. L  That really bites.

Workout Progress

If you don’t do Crossfit you probably aren’t aware of the fact that we all set goals for ourselves. I have been going to CFS for a month now and the first goal I worked towards was pushups & butterfly sit ups.  During my Indoc Class I could only do 3 pushups before moving down to do them on my knees and I couldn’t even finish doing the sit ups without help. During the workouts or warm ups it seemed like we were doing pushups everyday and I had to do girl pushups and my knees were always bruised. I was tired of always having bruises on my knees and I am happy to report that I don’t do pushups on my knees anymore! J I worked on the sit ups at home. I still have to grab a hold of my calves to get all the way, but I will never have to get someone to help me up again! I have also moved down in bands for pull-ups and chest to bar pull-ups.  I used to use a grey and blue band for chest to bar and a grey and red band for pull-ups, but now I am using a grey and red band for chest to bar and only a grey band for pull-ups. Finally, I went in last Saturday to work on my skills (i.e. toes-2-bar, double unders, etc) well it paid off. I can finally do toes-2 bar.  I can do them every other one and kipping leaves something to be desired, but I can do toes-2 bar! That’s 5 improvements in a month! I am sure that every month won’t be that spectacular, but you never know.

Goals

Right now my goals are mostly gymnastics based because that is where I struggle the most. I want to improve my toes-2-bar, double unders, ring dips, and pull-ups.

CrossFit Catch Up

Bear with me y’all here’s our workout and my results!

CLEAR COAT

CFS WOD – Tuesday 9JUL2013

SKILL:
10 minutes of Handstand Push Up work
*Athletes should work 1 level above their current HSPU level…boxes to bands, bands to 1 mat, 1 mat to Rx, Rx to deficit.  Focus on both kipping and strict HSPUs.

METCON:
35 Air Squats
35 Toes-2-Bar
35 Push Ups (HR)
35 Sit Ups
35 Pull Ups
35 Burpees
35 Double Unders
x2
*30 minute time cap

Clear Coat

WEED WITH WILLY

CFS WOD – Wednesday 10JUL2013

STRENGTH:
10 Back Squats @ 55-65% of 1RM
x3
*Every 3 minutes on the minute

METCON:
400m Run
5-3-1
Deadlifts (M-315#/F-205#)
10 Deficit Handstand Push Ups (M-45# Bumper/F-35# Bumper)
x3

Weed with willy

ON THE TAKE

CFS WOD – Thursday 11JUL2013

STRENGTH/SKILL:
MAX Distance Slam Ball Throw (M-20#/F-25#)
x3

METCON:
7 Hang Squat Cleans (M-155#/F-105#)
7 Chest-2-Bar Pull Ups
x7

On the take

LIPSTICK

CFS WOD – Friday 12JUL2013

STRENGTH:
20 Overhead Walking Lunges (M-45#/F-35#)
x3
*Every 2 minutes on the minute

METCON:
“JT”
21-15-9
Handstand Push Ups
Ring Dips
Push Ups

Lipstick

TALK TO THE SCREEN

CFS WOD – Monday 25JUL2013

SKILL:
10 minutes of Muscle Up work
*Attempt a MAX EFFORT Strict Pull Up and MAX EFFORT Strict Ring Dip (unbroke, no rest between movement transitions) with the final 2 minutes

METCON:
400m Run
20 Wall Balls (M-20#/F-14#)
20 Kettlebell Swings (M-70#/F-55#)
x4
*1:1 work to rest ratio (rest is not to exceed 5 minutes)

Talk to the screen

TOM FORD

CFS WOD – Tuesday 16JUL2013

STRENGTH:
100 Yard High/Low Kettlebell Carry (M-70#/55# / F-55#/35#)
x5
*Heavy KB is carried low in a Farmers Carry position with one arm, Light KB is locked out overhead with the other arm.
**Switch arms at the 50 yard mark
***Every 2 minutes on the minute

METCON:
12-9-6-3
Front Squats (M-25#/F-155#)
Muscle Ups

Tom Ford

I didn’t do Wednesday’s workout because the bar muscle ups left my ribs bruised pretty bad,  but that gives me motivation to get off the bar!

FREE MARRIAGE COUNSELING

CFS WOD – Thursday 18JUL2013

SKILL:
10 minutes of Handstand work
*Handstand Holds or Handstand Walks

METCON:
PARTNER WOD:
“PARTNER NICOLE”
20 minute AMRAP:
400m Run
MAX Chest-2-Bar Pull Ups
*Athlete #1 runs 400m while Athlete #2 completes as many C-2-B Pull Ups as possible (they do not have to be unbroken).  When Athlete #1 finishes the run, Athlete #2 runs and Athlete #1 completes as many C-2-B Pull Ups as possible.
**Score total C-2-B Pull Ups completed

Free Marriage counselling

A shout out to my partner Amber G. we did 7 rounds!

NERDS

CFS WOD – Friday 19JUL2013

STRENGTH:
20 Bulgarian Lunges (10 each leg)
x4
*Every 90 seconds

METCON:
21-15-9
Calorie Row
DB Thrusters (M-50#/F-30#)

Nerds

SQUAT NOISE = POWER

CFS WOD – Monday 22JUL2013

STRENGTH:
5 Front Squats
5 Back Squats
x4
@ 65% of 1RM Front Squat
*Every 2 minutes on the minute

METCON:
“2008 CROSSFIT GAMES DEADLIFT/BURPEE WOD”
5 Deadlifts (M-275#/F-185#)
10 Burpees
x5

Squat Noise=Power

Leave a Reply

