Squats, Open-Faced Sandwich

30 Day Squat Challenge

You may have seen the 30 day squat challenge going around. Some members of the Fitness & Weight Loss group on Google+ decided to do it too! I signed up. I am actually completing the last 3 day this week. Everyone enjoyed doing this so much that they are doing it again. It re-starts again tomorrow. I have definitely noticed a difference in the shape of my legs and my rear by doing this challenge. For the first 30 days I mixed it up and did regular squats and goblet squats. Sometimes I would use weights and sometimes I wouldn’t. I think this go around I am going to do ass to grass overhead squats (OHS). Please forgive the language there. I tried to do these yesterday for at least 50 and only managed to do 30 before my legs & rear were killing me! Tomorrow I am going to make it to that 50!

Figuring out what I eat

On my health journey, I’ve been trying to figure out what a healthy diet looks like. There are so many different sources of information. I have learned a few things!

1. Portion Sizes – Mine are still too big. Mostly because I am lazy or because I am starving nce I finally sit down to eat.

2. Not Eating Often Enough – I know that I am supposed to eat small meals 4-5 times a day or about every 3-4 hours. I did this one time and gained a lot of weight, but I think that had more to do with the size of my “small” meals than the # of them. I’ve been trying to squeeze all my calories into 3 meals a day. I did spend time trying to calculate my calories in one of those apps and it was so time consuming and complicated that I gave up. I did manage to find out that I was only eating about 800 calories a day. No wonder I was so hungry all the time! However, I realize that I need to track what I eat and how much of it I eat.

3. Not Eating the Right Kinds of Food – I really struggle with this. What contributes to this? Three things: Laziness, Lack of funds, & lack of control when it comes to grocery shopping.

Laziness – On the weekends, I can be lazy. My days aren’t structured like they are at work, so this is usually where I kill my hard work. I will eat whatever is quick to grab and in my parent’s home that is usually cereal, PB toast, Swiss cake rolls, or pop tarts. Not the healthiest options.

Lack of Funds & Shopping Control – I am living on a very tight budget and that leaves grocery shopping out most of the time (for now). So my parents are buying the groceries, and they will buy whatever I write down. However, unless I am very specific, all of the frozen vegetables come covered in buttered sauces, the wheat bread isn’t real wheat bread, and the starches are all white. I did get them to buy me Almond Milk, but they don’t dig for the original they just get the vanilla flavored. Which I now use in my coffee because asking them to hunt out the original seems like asking too much. Maybe I can get them to give me the grocery money and let me do the shopping?

4. Limit Meal Choices – I have noticed that I do eat a limited number of things for breakfast and lunch. For breakfast I eat an egg sandwich, peanut butter toast with banana, or cereal with almond milk. I have learned to minimize the bread by only eating 1 slice of toast and that the egg sandwich fills me up the most. For lunch I usually have leftovers from dinner, a sandwich, salad, or soup.

What am I going to do with all this information? Well I am going to continue to limit my bread intake to one slice of bread, try to be more specific on my grocery list for my parents, and make healthy snacks that I can just grab quickly.

Here are some of my favorite go to healthy snacks:

Popcorn (no butter or salt)
Tuna with Crackers
Cheese
Hummus with Veggies, crackers, or bread
Rice Cakes
Yogurt
Fruits
Veggies
Hard boiled eggs

My favorite breakfast:

Scrambled egg open face sandwich w/ salsa

1 egg
1 slice whole grain bread
2 tbsp salsa
Crushed red pepper flakes (optional)

1. Drop the toast in the toaster.
2. Scramble the egg with crushed red pepper flakes (to taste) in a non stick skillet.
3. Lay the egg on the toast and top with 2 tbsp salsa

Enjoy!

What is your favorite breakfast?

What snacks do you eat?

Leave a Reply

