Workout Schedules, Meal planning, Water

I posted my measurements and weight on here in March. Here is a quick update on my progress.
Chest (under the bust): 32″
Waist ( I measured the actual & then where my pants sit below the belly button): Actual: 31″ Lower Waist: 34.5″
Hips: 40″
Biceps: L- 12″, R- 12″
Thighs: L- 23″, R- 23″
Calves: L- 14″, R- 14″
Weight: 156 lbs

That is a 2 lb weight loss! I also lost 1″ in the chest, .5″ in the waist (.5″ in lower waist), 0.5″ off the biceps, and .5″ off the left calf & .25″ off the right calf. Go me!

May 13, 2013

I haven’t been very devoted to my exercise this last week. I have had Mason and I have been taking care of other things.  My mom is sick, so I’ve been busy taking the dogs out to the bathroom, plus Mason has had baseball games all week. Everything has just been a crazy rush. I will say that at least I didn’t sabotage my lake of working out with my diet! I had a mix of healthy and unhealthy foods, but I kept everything within proportion.

Workout Schedule 5/13/13 – 5/19/13
Monday 5/13 – Run 5 miles, 230 squats
Tuesday 5/14 – Cross-train (240 squats, Whole Body)
Wednesday 5/15 – 4 miles, 250 squats
Thursday 5/16 – 90 flights, Cross-Train (Upper & lower Body)
Friday 5/17 – 5 miles, whole body yoga
Saturday 5/18 – 3 miles, whole body yoga
Sunday 5/19 – Rest
Meal Plan???
I haven’t even thought about this week’s meals because I’ve been so busy and mostly we’ve been eating on the fly. I will have to update you later on this.

Saturday night’s dinner:

Roasted Garlic & Herb Chicken with Brussels Sprouts & Red Potatoes
3 lbs split chicken breast
McCormick’s Garlic & Herb seasoning
Frozen Brussels Sprouts (Family Size)
Frozen Red Potatoes with onions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees
Spray the roasting pan with EVOO (or your choice spray)
Lay chicken in & spray with EVOO
Rub chicken down with seasoning
Place chicken in oven for 2 hours (or ½ hour per lb)

The frozen veggies were the steamer kind so I popped them in the microwave for the allotted amount of time and viola dinner was complete.

I have to say that the Brussels Sprouts were so tasty I almost ate all of them. I even managed to get Mason (6yr old) to eat 3! He didn’t like the potatoes though.

Speaking of meals, I still find all the information out there overwhelming. We have people eating low-fat, low carb, no-carb, gluten-free, paleo, etc, etc, etc. Then you have government, doctor, nutritionists, and other health expert recommendations. Which begs the question, what should you be eating and how much of it should you eat? I like the idea of the paleo diet because the recipes are so simple, but at the same time I don’t want to shock my appendix and I would miss bread, pasta, and dairy way too much. I have been on diets that restrict certain foods and I always end up binge eating on whatever food was missing from diet. Anyway, I do want to cut back on some things. I already have a few rules that include:

1. No eating after 7:30PM. – I wake up so hungry in the mornings.

2. Drink 16-24 ounces of water before eating. – This way I don’t over eat. (Odd, since I am always fussing at my son for filling up on drink before a meal.)

I am still formulating the rest. I did find out some very interesting facts about drinking water. The more you exercise the more water you should drink, but a great judge of the daily average is half your weight in ounces. Mine would, currently, be 77 ounces of water a day. I do very well with that because I fill up a large bottle of water every day and drink it.
20130513_111253

I actually drink about 4 of these a day which means I am doing well on my on my water intake. Another cool fact I’ve learned about myself is that I need 24 ounces of water for every 4 miles that I run to stay hydrated during my run. I actually like to mix Gatorade & water during my long runs so that I’m staying hydrated and keeping my electrolytes up!

What do like on your long runs? Gel packs? Jelly Beans? Gatorade?

Are you a runner or a lifter or both?

Leave a Reply

