To Eat or Not To Eat…..

I have been evaluating my food choices.  I have been on a budget and when my parents buy the food I have to get real specific about what I want them to buy. What I can’t blame on anyone, but myself is the staples of my diet.  My diet mainly consist of pasta, chicken, tuna, bread, slice cheese, deli turkey or ham, cereal, milk, & peanut butter.  I would have to say that bread, cereal, and pasta are the biggest culprits.  I usually have cereal or wheat toast with peanut butter for breakfast, sandwich for lunch (I either make these at home or get something from Subway), and for dinner I usually make a pasta dish with veggies sometimes meat.  It is no wonder I can’t break this plateau eating like that, but I have no idea whether I should substitute or eliminate them from my diet.

 

I really want to add more fruits and veggies to my diet including breakfast and eliminate these other items or seriously decrease my intake of them.

 

I asked my fitness communities on Google+ what they do to substitute these things.  Here are some of the responses that I received:

 

Health and Fitness Page: “popular alternatives are turkey for meat, spaghetti squash for pasta, almond milk for cow milk, and low-fat cheese occasionally.

 

Herbert Hernandez: “1. When removing wheat, most dairy from your diet, there is no more bloating and better recovery from working out.

 

2. If you are planning on having animal protein, source out wild caught fish, free range chicken, and grass fed beef.

 

3. The beans, quinoa, and bulgar you suggest is a brilliant option and that I use often in my meals.

 

4. Look for a book called Clean Eating, they offer delicious recipes that use the grains and beans you are thinking about.

 

I am definitely going to look into these things.  I have already purchased almond milk. I will look at other ways to decrease the amount of bread and pasta I eat by trying spaghetti squash again and using quinoa & bulgar instead of pasta & rice.  This week I have already purchased my groceries for this week.

 

For breakfast I have been eating Honey Nut Cheerios with Almond milk.

 

For lunch I have been eating leftovers from dinner the night before. Last night I made Lemon Caper Chicken with corn on the cob.

 

Tonight for dinner I am making a veggie stir-fry with brown rice.

 

While reading CNC today Tina talked about some of the changes she made to increase the amount of food she ate but still lowering the caloric valve.  That way she felt full with less calories and lots of nutrients.  I would like to add more fruits and vegetables to my diet for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. I also want Mason to like it!

 

Do you substitute foods? 

 

Have you eliminated a particular food group?

Leave a Reply

