There Are Worse Things To Be Addicted Too!

Exercise is Addictive!

I am sure that many of you already know this, but I personally believe that exercise is the most addictive thing in the world! I am no scientist, but research shows that working out doesn’t only causes a physical change in your body it causes a chemical change in your body as well.

Here are some of the chemical that get released and what they are known for.

Endorphins – Diminish pain, decrease stress, gives you an euphoric feeling (runner’s high) decreased appetite (I did not know this), and improved immune response.

Serotonin – a natural mood booster! This helps fight depression.

Brain Derived Neurotrophic factor (BDNF) – Also helps reduce depression symptoms and can enhance brain health & memory.

Those are just a few of the things I found looking around. Here is a link to a blog that I found informative: http://blog.bufferapp.com/why-exercising-makes-us-happier  I am sure that dopamine plays a part of this chemical cocktail as well.

I can’t get enough of it! I have an extremely rigid schedule right now because I am in training for a race and I have another one immediately following.  Even when I am struggling with moving past a plateau I push harder! Which leads me into the phrase Go Big or Go Home!

I have learned that when it comes to that phrase I am an all or nothing kind of girl.  I don’t do anything half way.  I am either doing it or not.

Leave a Reply

